California Social Work License | Therapist Development Center - Fingerprints (2023)

Get a California Social Work License

In the state of California, the Overseas Board of Behavioral Sciences (BBS) administers the licensing initiation for LCSWs in California. As we strive to keep the following information up to date, we encourage you to contact BBS directly at (916) 574-7830 or visit their website.networkfor more information on licensing requirements with ASW and LCSW applicants.

Once you have earned your Master of Social Work (MSW) degree, the remaining steps are to obtain your California social work license.

(Video) SDCOE Credentials_Understanding the Fingerprint Process for California Credentials 2021


California Social Work License | Therapist Development Center - Fingerprints (1)

(Video) Fingerprints At Home - An Easy How-To Guide

STEP 2 - Register as a Social Worker and Hourly Employee.

Part 1. Sign up on a BBS

  • BEFORE you start building your chronic years, the first thing you need to do isregister on the BBS above as Assoziiertes Social Worker (ASW).
    • Click herefor application instructions plus a submission form. Some items required for that application include, but are not limited to:
      • Check your fingerprints live
      • Verification of professional qualifications
      • passport photo
      • $150 usage fee
  • You'll be aware of the 90 day rule to make sure your hours count!
  • Also BEFORE the onset of menstruation,make sure your supervisor characterizes your audit responsibility statement. You must submit this along with the time spent per hour, so please make a copy for your supervisor and keep yours in a safe place.

Part 2. Passing the California Rules and Ethics Test

  • You previously had a social work employee number, you must pass the CA Ethics Act test within the first year before you can renew your employee number. Repeals the 12-hour requirement for graduate courses in law and ethics... RULES AND REGULATIONS; ARTICLES AND COMPANY...
  • If you are taking the Law and Ethics exam for the first time, you must do thisregister the exam by leaving this form by filling it out(Click here).
    • Be sure to review your application before submitting it. Missing a date or signature on the form is one of the most common reasons for delays in application processing. Also, be sure to have your $150 registration fee check with you!
  • Next... start learning! And the best way to achieve it is through TDCCA Lawyer and Ethics Exam Preparationa price that allows you to finish the exam day in 35 hours! For more information about this programcontact us here.

Part 3. Calculation of hours

  • Follow-upcomplete 3,000 hours of supervisory work experience
    • At least 2,000 hours focused on psychosocial clinical diagnosis, assessment, including treatment.
    • At least 750 hours focused on face-to-face psychotherapy
    • Up to 1,000 focused hours in client-focused advocacy, consulting, evaluation, and research
  • Enable monitoring for 104 weeks
    • Each week with at least one individual or triadic supervision or two hours of group supervision counts as one supervised week; at least 52 of 104 include, if necessary, an interview of at least one hour with the supervisor Behavioral Sciences Chamber Statutes and Bylaws
  • Observation,additional courses may be requiredif our MSW graduate program does not include the required courses. Such as include:
    • Child Abuse Assessment and Reporting (7 hours), Human Sexuality (10 hours), Alcoholism and Chemical Dependency (15 hours), Spouse/Partner Reuse (15 hours), and Aging and Long-Term Care (10 hours)

STEP 3- Prepare for and pass the LCSW clinical exam

  • Just a little more and you're done! One more step towards your Socialize Function license in California.
  • Now that you have completed your classes and passed the California Law and Jurisprudence Exam, you cansubmit your application to register for the LCSW check(Click here)
  • Once the owner registration is accepted,contact the Association for Social Work Boards (ASWB)ofVue Pearsonto discover a test center near you and register for a collection date.
  • And also... from training start learning! including TOCLCSW Exam Prep: ASWB Clinical Level Exam Program, our test preparation coaches cover basic material and provide problem-solving ideas to help you find the right answer. Our team will provide you with a proven study formula, broken down step by step on how not to waste your Zeitpoint trying to figure out what topics to pursue. We have an experienced staff of exam preparation coaches who have recently passed exams and are available to answer any questions you may have during the learning process. The Choose for Us Fees material was developed by social workers who passed the licensing exam with a score of 90% or higher. We recommend a study period of 4 to 8 weeks with our exam preparation programs.

LOVE! You have received your California Social Work Owner's License and are now a registered LCSW! We wish him much success in his career.

Uw Therapeutic Development Center

Frequently Asked Questions About California Social Work Licensing


California Social Work License | Therapist Development Center - Fingerprints (2)

(Video) 5 Things Every MSW Grad Should Know - Therapist Development Center

Are California social work license requirements different from other states?

In addition to the typical educational requirements (bachelor's degree in social work, master's in social work, 3,200 hours of supervised experience) that an LCSW must meet before applying, an LCSW job in California must also passCalifornia Law and Ethics Exambefore I can get my social work license from Adenine.

What can you do with an Adenine Ca social work license?

With more social workers than any other state in the country, Cali has no shortage of social work jobs available to those who pass the licensing exams. The number of social work jobs in Carlos is also expected to increase through 2022. There are 4 main fields of social work that you can enter after obtaining your California social work license, including:

  • Social workers for families, children and schools.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Social Workers
  • social workers in care
  • All other social workers

How much can a social worker earn?

California has some of the highest paying social work jobs of any state in the country. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, school, child, and family social workers have an average annual salary of about $51,500, health care social workers an average salary of about $68,000 a year, substance abuse social workers, and mental health workers average about $58,000 a year. year, and all other types of social workers have regular salaries starting at around $64,400 a year in posh California. 8 BBS Oversight Changes Every Licensed and Pre-Licensed Physician Should Be Aware of: In month 1 of 2022, a significant number of changes and

(Video) Guardian 101 for Licensing and Home Care Agencies

Can I become an LCSW in California with a license from another state?

California currently does not have an oral JV, but the out-of-state license transfer process has become easier since 2016. Out-of-state applicants can confirm their license status by submitting athis will shapefor California Specialty Consumer Affiliate.

Can I work in private practice with a later social security number?

Many registrants apply for a subsequent ASW registration number in order to work or gain more supervised work experience. These additional application numbers are valid for 6 years (with 5 renewals).

How often are California BBS registrations renewed?

The California Board of Human Behavior (BBS) requires social renewal every two years. To qualify for license renewal, licensees must complete 36 continuing education (CE) hours before they can apply for each renewal. Up to 36 hours of CE must include: 6 hours on law and ethics, 3 hours on aging and long-term maintenance, 7 hours on HIV/AIDS evaluation and treatment, 6 hours on supervisory education, and 6-hour unique requirements on violence of a partner or intimate partner and 6 hours of suicide risk assessment will pass your initial license renewal. Information for Assistant Clinical Social Worker (ASW) and... Hours must be submitted with license application; For important information that...

For grain social workers, license verification cannot be canceled in this stateDepartment of Retail Affairs (DCA) website.where users can search for a license to see if it is currently active, expired, or under disciplinary action.

(Video) California Licensing Workshop: Amy Kaplan, L.C.S.W.

Is social work research available in cereals?

Scholarships for social work degrees are available in the best higher schools in that country considering approx. Most require a minimum GPA or you must apply in advance. This policy applies to pre-licensed Clinical Therapists seeking to obtain a license registered with this BBS... Collect BBS Membership Information;


What is the 6 year rule for BBS? ›

What is the 6-year rule? The Board cannot accept hours of experience (including personal psychotherapy and workshops, training or conferences) that are older than six (6) years from the date the Board receives your Application for Licensure.

How long does it take to get your ASW number? ›

Allow 4-6 weeks for processing. See the FAQs about the Law and Ethics Exam for more information (access the above documents at>Exams>LCSW).

What is the difference between ACSW and LCSW? ›

As an ACSW you must work under the supervision of a licensed mental health professional. Once you've gained 3,000 hours and at least 104 weeks of supervised work experience as an ACSW you'll be prepared to start the application process to become an LCSW.

How long does it take to get LCSW in California? ›

(must include a minimum of 750 hours performing face-to-face individual or group psychotherapy) • A maximum of 40 hours may be credited during any single week • A minimum of 1,700 hours (any type) must be supervised by an LCSW. A maximum of 1,200 hours may be supervised by an LEP if certain qualifications are met.

What are the new BBS laws 2023? ›

Effective January 1, 2023, the BBS will require registered associates to complete a minimum of three (3) hours of CE on law and ethics during each registered associate's renewal period (annually) regardless of whether they have passed the California Law & Ethics exam.

What is the 90 day rule for BBS MSW? ›

The “90-day rule” is a clause in the law that allows applicants for registration as an Associate Marriage and Family Therapist, Associate Professional Clinical Counselor, or Associate Clinical Social Worker (Associate), to count supervised experience gained during the window of time between the degree award date and ...

What can an ASW do? ›

The ASW license allows you to perform clinical social work under the supervision of a current licensed mental health professional.

How do I know if the BBS received my application? ›

Following are ways to know if the BBS has received your application: Include a self-addressed envelope or post card (on top of your application), which the BBS will return to you and you will know that they have received your application packet. You could also mail your packet in a manner that includes tracking.

Is it ASW or ACSW? ›

While confusing, the correct BBS acronym is "ASW". "ACSW" refers to the NASW credentialing designation of Academy of Certified Social Workers, a separate process. I copied the references below. I thought it might be helpful to clarify here on our list serve and encourage getting the word out to our new professionals.

What is the highest LCSW salary? ›

LCSW Salary in California
Annual SalaryWeekly Pay
Top Earners$107,225$2,062
75th Percentile$85,682$1,647
25th Percentile$59,732$1,148

Where do LCSW make the most money? ›

Highest paying cities for Licensed Clinical Social Workers near California
  • Stockton, CA. $90.42 per hour. 112 salaries reported.
  • San Diego, CA. $66.64 per hour. 173 salaries reported.
  • San Jose, CA. $62.30 per hour. 45 salaries reported.
  • San Francisco, CA. $61.14 per hour. ...
  • La Mesa, CA. $61.00 per hour. ...
  • Show more nearby cities.

What are the letters after a social workers name? ›

They represent two common social work licenses—the licensed master social worker (LMSW) and the licensed clinical social worker (LCSW). Again, it's important to note that social work licenses like an LMSW and an LCSW vary from state to state.

How much does Kaiser pay LCSW in California? ›

As of May 1, 2023, the average annual pay for a Kaiser LCSW in the United States is $84,458 a year.

What is the average pay for a LCSW in California? ›

How much does a Clinical Social Worker - LCSW make in California? The average Clinical Social Worker - LCSW salary in California is $85,800 as of May 01, 2023, but the range typically falls between $78,600 and $94,900.

What is the passing score for LCSW exam in California? ›

Generally, pass points range from 90 to 107 correct answers of the 150 scored questions.

How long does BBS application take? ›


How many hours do you need for a MSW in California? ›

While an MSW program will require field work experience to graduate, California requires 3,000 total supervised social work hours open_in_new over a minimum of 104 weeks in order to become licensed as a clinical social worker.

How many direct client contact hours do I need to accrue to graduate with California MFT eligibility? ›

A minimum of 1,750 hours of direct counseling to individuals, groups, couples, or families. A minimum of 500 of which must be with families, couples, or children. A maximum of 1,250 hours of nonclinical practice. One hour of direct supervisor contact is required for every five hours of client contact.

What is ASW vs LCSW? ›

In California the two clinical licenses are the Associate Clinical Social Worker (ASW) and the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW). In order to become an LCSW you must first become an ASW. This information is listed in the table below. In California there is no Bachelors level certification or licensure.

Who can supervise ASW in California? ›

Supervising Associate Social Workers (ASW)

Licensed Educational Psychologist (LEP) Licensed Psychologist (Licensed by the California Board of Psychology) Board-Certified Psychiatrist (Licensed by the Medical Board of California)

Can a LCSW diagnose in California? ›

California was the first state to permit LCSWs to diagnose and treat mental and nervous disorders without having MDs countersign. In addition, LCSWs in California can also provide inpatient psychiatric treatment.

How do I track my BBS hours? ›

As soon as you have entered hours, you can begin tracking your progress by clicking the Dashboard tab. Here you can see a summary of your hours by category. To generate your forms, click the “Forms” tab. When you view the hours in your account you will see both “Recorded” and “Valid” totals.

How long does it take for BBS to cash a check? ›

It can take up to 2 weeks from when we receive the app to process the payment.

How long does it take for BBS to cash check? ›

Payments must be processed first, which can take up to 4 weeks.

What does ASW mean in social work? ›

Information for Associate Clinical Social Worker (ASW) and. Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) Applicants.

What does ASW mean in degree? ›

If you're brand new to social work, earning an Associate of Social Work (ASW) degree may help you build foundational knowledge in the field. With an ASW under your belt, you may qualify for certain jobs in the field or choose to pursue additional degrees in social work.

What is the difference between state licensure and becoming an ACSW? ›

Licensure requirements vary by state, but typically include a degree in social work from an accredited program, supervised clinical experience, and passing a state-administered exam. On the other hand, becoming an ACSW is a voluntary professional certification offered by the NASW.

Can you make 6 figures as an LCSW? ›

Can a social worker make 6 figures? Social workers have the potential to make nearly six figures in some segments of the career field. But they also have the potential for building up six figures of student loan debt.

What state needs social workers the most? ›

Top 15 States with Demand for Social Workers
  • Oregon. Oregon is among the leading states showing an increased demand for social workers. ...
  • Connecticut. Social work vacancies are expected to grow 17% by 2028, according to the DOL. ...
  • New Hampshire. ...
  • Alaska. ...
  • California. ...
  • Nevada. ...
  • Washington. ...
  • Tennessee.
Sep 29, 2021

What type of social work pays the most? ›

5 Highest-Paying Jobs in Social Work
  • Corporate Social Responsibility Manager – Median Salary: $80,200.
  • Social Policy Analyst – Median Salary: $74,700.
  • Medical Social Worker – Median Salary: $65,300.
  • Child and Family Therapist – Median Salary: $63,000.
  • Human Resources Coordinator/Specialist – Median Salary: $48,300.

How much do LCSW make in California private practice? ›

$62,670 is the 25th percentile. Salaries below this are outliers. $115,549 is the 75th percentile.

What state pays social workers the lowest? ›

The lowest average salary in any social work specialty is in mental health and substance abuse in the state of Nebraska. Social workers will only make $35,710 in this state. Mississippi's child and family social workers aren't far behind with an average salary of $36,800.

Is being a LCSW stressful? ›

Social workers have one of the highest risk jobs for chronic stress and burnout among healthcare professionals, especially when workloads are high and they don't feel valued.

What are fancy words for social worker? ›

What is another word for social worker?
guidance counsellormediator
16 more rows

What is the short name of Master of Social Work? ›

The Master of Social Work (MSW) is a master's degree in the field of social work. It is a professional degree with specializations compared to Bachelor of Social Work (BSW).

What is the award name for social worker? ›

Social Justice Advocate Award

This award is open to social workers who demonstrate a commitment to challenging injustice, seek to equalize the position of different social groups and challenge discriminatory systems.

How much does a MSW therapist make in California? ›

How much does aMental Health Clinician (MSW) make in California? The average Mental Health Clinician (MSW) salary in California is $70,638 as of May 01, 2023, but the range typically falls between $63,842 and $78,182.

How much does LCSW at UCSF make? ›

$81,613. The estimated total pay for a Clinical Social Worker at UC San Francisco is $81,613 per year.

How can I make the most money as an LCSW? ›

Practice clinical social work

Typically, the highest paying social work roles are clinical. This means you'll find yourself working for hospitals, insurance companies, or doing therapy. You should also prioritize licensure if you want to practice social work, even if you don't want to be a therapist.

How much do social workers make in California with a bachelor's degree? ›

The average Social Worker (BSW) salary in California is $69,998 as of May 01, 2023, but the range typically falls between $62,723 and $78,064.

How much does a Stanford LCSW make? ›

Average Stanford Health Care Licensed Clinical Social Worker hourly pay in the United States is approximately $52.54, which is 20% above the national average.

How much do LCSW make in the Bay Area? ›

LCSW Salary in San Francisco, CA $82,215 - ZipRecruiter.

Is the LCSW exam difficult? ›

Many people ask, "Is the LCSW exam difficult?" The answer is, it is only difficult if you don't prepare. Luckily, there are many free or inexpensive ASWB LCSW exam prep courses available. You should definitely sign up for one of these courses; preparing entirely on your own will add additional unnecessary stress.

How do I ace the LCSW exam? ›

Top 5 LCSW Exam Prep Tips
  1. 1 – Practice. While occasionally we will hear of someone who took their exam without studying, the fact of the matter is that this is a VERY rare occurrence! ...
  2. 2 – Common sense. Use your common sense! ...
  3. 3 – Manage your Anxiety. ...
  4. 4 – Never Leave a Question Blank. ...
  5. 5 – Read the Question Stem First.
Aug 24, 2020

How many hours does it take to get LCSW in California? ›

What is the breakdown for the experience required to become a LCSW? California law requires 3,000 hours of supervised post-degree professional experience, including 104 supervised weeks, in order to qualify for LCSW licensure.

What is an exempt setting BBS? ›

Practice settings are now defined as follows: Exempt Setting: A governmental entity, a school, a college, a university, or an institution that is both nonprofit and charitable. Nonexempt Setting: Any type of setting that does not qualify as an exempt setting.

What are the current processing times for BBS? ›


What does it mean to be registered with BBS? ›

The Board of Behavioral Sciences is a California state regulatory agency, responsible for licensing, examination, and enforcement of professional standards for: Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT) and Associates (AMFT) Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) Associates (ASW)

What rules do therapists have to follow? ›

All therapists are legally required to maintain confidentiality for their clients. Confidentiality means that a therapist cannot confirm or deny even treating the client if someone asks. Furthermore, they cannot discuss any revealing contact information, such as a client's name or demographics, outside of the session.

How to determine if a position is exempt or nonexempt California? ›

California sets a minimum salary for jobs to be classified as exempt. Jobs in California that pay less than $58,240 a year are generally classed as nonexempt. This figure, which is valid as of January 1, 2021, is double the state minimum wage of $14 an hour, multiplied by 52 40-hour workweeks.

Who qualifies for exempt status in California? ›

First, the employee must be paid a salary of more than 1.5 times minimum wage. Second, more than half of the wages earned by the employee must be in the form of sales commissions each work week. If these two conditions are met, then the employee is exempt from daily and weekly overtime pay requirements.

What makes a position exempt in California? ›

Salary Considerations

Exempt employees in California generally must earn a minimum monthly salary of no less than two times the state minimum wage for full time employment. Simply paying an employee a salary does not make them exempt, nor does it change any requirements for compliance with wage and hour laws.

What is the passing score for BBS clinical exam? ›

The passing score cutoff has typically been around 100 out of 150 scored items (67%). It would be unusual to have a passing score cutoff below 97 or above 103. You can improve your chances of passing by using our online California LMFT Clinical Exam prep program.

What is a BBS fee? ›

BBS charges an annual maintenance fee of $400.00. The annual maintenance fee is charged for all accounts, except: accounts that solely hold mutual fund positions; and Home Broker accounts of clients who have a regular investment account.

Who can call themselves a counselor in California? ›

In California, as in most states, anyone can call themselves a psychoanalyst, a counselor, a hypnotist a hypnotherapist or a psychotherapist without any kind of training or education. These titles are not regulated, licensed or controlled in any way.

How many practicum and internship hours are required by California? ›

Practicums and Internships

It must involve direct client contact in a clinical setting, including at least 280 hours of face-to-face supervised clinical experience counseling groups, families, and individuals.

Why does my therapist watch my hands? ›

Hands. Your client's hands can give you clues about how they're reacting to what comes up in the session. Trembling fingers can indicate anxiety or fear. Fists that clench or clutch the edges of clothing or furniture can suggest anger.

What are the three rules of counselors? ›

Counselors must:
  • Work hard to create and sustain a relationship with their clients based on trust.
  • Obtain informed consent from clients entering a counseling relationship.
  • Respect a client's confidentiality and privacy.
Feb 16, 2016


1. Achieving Telehealth’s Potential: The Policy Landscape’s Impact on Specialty Care
(Petrie-Flom Center)
2. Implementing CCDF Criminal Background Check Requirements
3. BACKGROUND CHECK After Job Offer l Things Could Keep you From Getting Hired
(We Grow People)
4. How to Take Successful Electronic Fingerprints
(Center for Development of Security Excellence (CDSE))
5. Legally Me: Navigating Paper Barriers to Employment for the Transgender Applicant
(Jefferson Educational Society Of Erie)
6. Gun Purchase Delayed / Denied ? Your Address Will Be Sent To Feds & Local LEO - An Explanation
(2a Edu)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Saturnina Altenwerth DVM

Last Updated: 18/04/2023

Views: 6622

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (64 voted)

Reviews: 95% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Saturnina Altenwerth DVM

Birthday: 1992-08-21

Address: Apt. 237 662 Haag Mills, East Verenaport, MO 57071-5493

Phone: +331850833384

Job: District Real-Estate Architect

Hobby: Skateboarding, Taxidermy, Air sports, Painting, Knife making, Letterboxing, Inline skating

Introduction: My name is Saturnina Altenwerth DVM, I am a witty, perfect, combative, beautiful, determined, fancy, determined person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.